Deer Browse and Cover

Discuss your Deer Hunting here.

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

Gblack15
scout
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Deer Browse and Cover

Post by Gblack15 » Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:20 pm

Ok Guys, I have quite successfully deer hunted just about every WMA in central Florida over the last 15 or so years and most of that success has been related to finding places where the Does are and where the oaks are. This year I am on some new ground in an old familiar WMA. Most of it is Pines and scrub during my summer scouting I have seen lots of blackberries ans wild blueberries along with common undergrowth and vines. this area seems to have a huge population of deer year round based on some intel from friend and several sheds I found.

I have very little experience hunting pines an palmettos so I am looking for ideas on what food might be available during fall months. Right now I plan to focus on transition areas where pines meet palmettos or pasture and areas like cypress heads that are wet. I should also add that right now they just finished burning several hundred acres of brush that may be prime browse this fall but very open and near the road. I would also like to hear how some others might approach a hunting plan for this area.

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse. Romans 1:20

treefarmer
Ordeal

Re: Deer Browse and Cover

Post by treefarmer » Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:53 am

My early days hunting was in palmettos, pine and cypress strands. It seemed to me that watchin' an edge was always the place to be. This time of the year you should be able to see old rubs and knowing that they are sometimes used year after year would be a good indicator for a good spot to ambush ol' Bambi when the season opens, especially if y'alls season coincides with the rut. Fresh scrapes are a good place to watch.