Green swamp

Discuss all your Wilderness Management Areas here.

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

OriginalCracker
Assistant Patrol Leader
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Green swamp

Post by OriginalCracker » Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:39 pm

I'd rather not start another thread for this, but does anyone have any info on green swamp WMA? I plan on scouting it this week for the first time ever and would like some info maybe on where the majority of people go so I can avoid certain areas and not waste time. I don't mind walking very far in to get away from people. I'm a full time college student, so my hunting/scouting time is very very limited, which is equivalent to why I'm so unsuccessful at hunting, but I still enjoy getting out when I can. Where should I avoid, is it overcrowded, etc.?

vonnick52
Star Scout

Re: Green swamp

Post by vonnick52 » Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:41 pm

I'll be out there come archery. I'm a USF graduate, can't say I know any super sweet spots but I'd be willing to meet up with you.

Iluv2hunt
Third Beader

Post by Iluv2hunt » Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:47 pm

Take a mountain bike. The place is big, and the gates are locked in the off season
I don't hunt turkeys because I want to, I hunt them because I have to. ~Colonel Tom Kelly

Kortsman
Star Scout

Post by Kortsman » Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:50 pm

This is a romp&stomp WMA. That doesn't mean that there's no game. First thing is you'll have to bike in to do any scouting before season. You'll see a lot of people early in the season. As time goes on, it thins out some.
If you wait until archery, you'll be able to drive in and find other places. Take a look at google earth and get an idea of where you want to start. Then find some transition points, where oaks meet swamp, meet pines. That's where you'll want to start scouting. Sometimes you have to walk far, but I've seen deer within sight of the road.

houseofmicah
Eagle Scout

Post by houseofmicah » Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:57 pm