Making your own - Casting Slugs and 380

Discuss Reloading your ammo and your gear used to reload here.

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

fishindad
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Making your own - Casting Slugs and 380

Post by fishindad » Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:02 pm

I have been trying to getting into casting for some time now. Recently, through some acquisitions I have started making my own bullets. I have been collecting supplies for about 2-3 years now and finally had the right things to start. Its hard to believe that I bought the lead pot frankly almost 3 years ago from Cabelas. (Note - I posted earlier about casting jigs. I did these all on the same day)

I will be reloading these sometime next week. The bullet molds used were the 1oz 12 gauge Lee and the 102 gr Lee 356-102-1R.

Safety is key. Here are the big ones...
1) Good ventilation. Use a cross blowing fan.
2) Wear gloves, jeans or apron and covered shoes.
3) Water is BAD. Do not let water come near the melted lead.
4) Do NOT eat or drink while you are doing this.
5) Wash your hands well after touching ANY lead. Frankly, we should all do this after even touching slip sinkers.
6) Be organized. You don't want to be running back and forth trying to find something and leave the lead unattended.

**** These are suggestions. Anyone doing this should do alot of research and ask alot of questions.

Ok with the above disclaimers..... Here we go. Overall I really enjoyed it. I acquired lead through various sources, made ingots and was ready to go.

First step: Melt the lead.

I had a thermometer and the spout seemed to work best at setting it 5-6 which was about 600 degrees. I put about 5 small ingots in and let it all melt. That took about 15 minutes.

Second step: Mix the lead and skim impurities.