Catching Shrimp

Discuss all your General "Inshore" altwater fishing here.

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

GOBBLERSTOPPER
scout

Catching Shrimp

Post by GOBBLERSTOPPER » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:02 am

I am new to the saltwater world so I need some help. I want to catch some shrimp for my own consumption not for fishing. I was told to use a cast net when the shrimp were in.

My questions are:

When are they in, is it a certain time of the year?
Day or not?
Do I use bait to attract them?

Any help will greatly be appreciated... Thanks.

GOBBLERSTOPPER
scout

Re: Catching Shrimp

Post by GOBBLERSTOPPER » Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:13 pm

I was just talking to another guy in my building and he said to use cat food as bait for shrimp. Does that sound right or is he pulling my leg?

Iluv2hunt
Third Beader
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Post by Iluv2hunt » Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:24 pm

Full moon
Incoming tide
at night
in the spring
dip net and lantern
I don't hunt turkeys because I want to, I hunt them because I have to. ~Colonel Tom Kelly

HCON3
Assistant Patrol Leader

Post by HCON3 » Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:43 pm

You can catch shrimp any day by pushing some type net small mesh through the grass beds but will never get enough to eat. Most will be small grass shrimp. The bigger shrimp come up out of the bottom at night on the incoming tide till just after it tops over going out. You can push at night just wouldn't advise doing it as they are fast and other things out at night. In the spring may and june all shrimp leave the bays to spawn out in 24fathoms of water never to return. Best time to be on any bridge with long handled dip net or cast net with latern and you can catch your limit most nights may to june 15th best on full moon and extra high tides. I ran my own shrimp boat for 9yrs every night during incoming tide with 12ft shrimp trawls and you have to run them down.

GoodOyster
Ain't as Good as I Once Was , But I'm As Good Once As I Ever Was!