Advice needed for a noob here...

Discuss all of your General "Offshore" fishing here.

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

CWFAsian1129
Tenderfoot

Advice needed for a noob here...

Post by CWFAsian1129 » Sun Jul 29, 2012 11:14 pm

Hey guys, I live in Palmetto, FL and I only fish from shore. I do not have any kind of offshore experience beside when I went out few offshore trips with experienced fishermans

One of my buddy's dad bought a 18.5ft 115hp Johnson single motor with 24 gal fuel tank on a v-hull boat and he wants to start to do some fishing. This boat has live bait well and few installed rod holders.
And also we are planning to take this boat out only when its a calm and Sunny day

The question is, is this boat capable to do any kind of offshore fishing?

If it is, what do we need in order to start to prep?

We don't have a fish finder or anything...we have a boat and rods but no experience...

Any recommendation or suggestion would be deeply appreciated. Like how to locate fish and what kind of equipments, rigs and else we need. We would love to catch some snappers and groupers if that's possible

TerribleTed
Senior Patrol Leader
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Re: Advice needed for a noob here...

Post by TerribleTed » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:24 am

No experience with boat?

lets see the boat.

If you don't have any experience fish the intercostal for a wile just to hang of how the boat runs. I will suggest a GPS and a dash mounted compass. seriously you can get tuned around easy offshore. GPS sometime fail. Calm and sunny can turn into lighting and nasty and praying you make it to shore.

But its a blast I run a 19 foor bayboat No problem running 20-30 mile off.Is the boat self bailing?

Iluv2hunt
Third Beader

Post by Iluv2hunt » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:29 am

Need better description of the boat. I have a 20' Key west Bay boat and run 20 miles all the time.....but I pick my days. I won't go if the winds are forecast more than 10knots