2012 Food Plot

This is a forum to duscuss your Food Plots and Supplemental Feeding

Moderators: GoodOyster, Cr0ck1

sam03
Ordeal

2012 Food Plot

Post by sam03 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:39 am

I started prepping one of my food plots. This is my first year doing them so I have lots to learn. The area i'm putting this plot is a dried up pond. Its been dry for 2 yrs. I started by cleaning up the dead grass and once i get a larger enough area cleaned up i will till it up. What do you guys use to till up your plots? I have a small walk behind Craftsman tiller...its going to take some serious time to till it all up. I have a riding mower and have been looking for used attachments that might help tilling and cleaning up areas for the plots but haven't found more around me. I have an unlimited supply of horse manure and tons that has been sitting for years so its ready to improve the dirt in case its not up to par!

Does any one know where i can get a soil test done around Gainesville FL?
When do you guys start planting?

I like animals, they are tasty!

davedirt
Ordeal
Hunt or Fish: Equally Both

Re: 2012 Food Plot

Post by davedirt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:55 pm

Give you an A for effort but that mite be kinda small, do you know any one with a tractor to disk that whole are from trees to trees.
STAY HUNGRY MY FRIENDS
DUG IN TIGHTER THAN ALABAMA TICK

ROLL TIDE

Last year I was a hunter and not a harvester........

Triple Creek Reaper
Brotherhood

Post by Triple Creek Reaper » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:15 pm

Looks like a great spot and a much larger area seems to make sense, I have never put in a food plot myself but a dried up lake is sure to hold some standing water should we get a truly "wet" season this year. Maybe some people on here can give you some good ideas on planting something that might be able to survive standing water for an extended period. Good luck.
3rd Tine Lucky Hunt Club
Bradford County, FL & Port Washington, OH
EST 2013

Iluv2hunt
Third Beader